Hobbits

If you have followed my blog over the years you’ll realize my husband Ron and I enjoy going for drives over back roads around Oregon and Washington. I wanted to return to Cottage Grove to make some more photos of the alleys that were used during the parade scenes in the movie “Animal House”. After we left Cottage Grove we headed west and ended up outside the tiny town/village of Lorane. We stumbled across this concrete house and after a little research I discovered it is called the Hobbit House.

It is made of concrete, inside and out. It is a concrete dome house and for most of its life it acted as a residence for the ministers who served the church located across the street. (Now that I know this I’d like to go back and get a photo of the church).

The house used to be covered by soil, but is now uncovered and is being restored by several artisans. They are conducting training sessions on decorative concrete techniques and if interested, you can sign up for their courses.

Hobbit house

Hobbit house

temporary housing

You just never know what you’ll come across if only you just take the road less traveled.

(all photos were taken with my Hasselblad 500 CM, Kodak TX400, and developed at home for 7.5 minutes in Ilfosol)

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me. I use both digital and film cameras.
This entry was posted in American Roadside, Hasselblad, Oregon, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment