Pinhole

Over Father’s Day weekend I attended my high school class reunion. How many decades have passed is not important, but what is important is that it was the best reunion ever. I will have photos of it in a later post. Now I want to share some pinhole images I made during the time I was in California. I visited places I had not seen in decades.

I have so many wonderful memories of going to Eagle Lake with my friends. We would lie on the beach and get the best tans…..before there was sun block.  Although school was out when I took these photos, I was the only one there.

Eagle Lake marina

This was about a 20 second exposure at the marina. After years of drought the water level is back up but strange things are growing near shore.

EagleLake_pinhole_2017560

This was a 6 second exposure taken at Gallatin Beach which was a beautiful sandy shore during my teens but not now. I was the only one there. Oh, the Black Flag is my personal defense system against bad humans, not bugs.

EagleLake_pinhole_2017554-Edit-2

26 second exposure. This reminded me of Roger Fenton’s photo during the Crimean War, only instead of pine cones since photo showed horrible cannon shells from the battle. 

I used to love and still love going to soda fountains to get chocolate sundaes. They have to be made in glass tulip dishes or else they are no good. Most of these fountains are now closed, but I found a few on my trip. Here are two:

Chester fountain

This was a 2 minute and 21 second exposure. Not only do they still have the soda fountain but there is also a great gift shop here. I found a cute Jack in the Box and picked it up for Madison. The store has a great collection, to buy, of retro 1950’s toys.

Prattville store and restaurant

6 second exposure. This fountain is at Prattville on the west shore of Lake Almanor. I decided to have my sundae outside on the deck which turned out not to be the best decision as it melted quickly. And I’ve changed over the years, after a few spoonfuls I was full and left the rest. What a sad state of affairs although my waist line thanked me.

It was very hot while I was in Northern California and I could only find relief by wading in Lake Almanor. Turns out I found the beach I had visited as a little kid. Yay.

Almanor_pinhole_2017555

4 second exposure. Lots of movement here as I had to get in and out quickly to open and shut the shutter on my pinhole camera. I wish I had a bathing suit with me.

I also continued with my series on old gas stations. This one in Chester, California is now a coffee shop.

Chester old gas station

36 second exposure This is a repurposed gas station, now a coffee shop.

(All these photos were taken with my Zero Image pinhole camera with Kodak Ektar 100 film)

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in California, film, Photography, pinhole, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

