My take on my Reality So Subtle 6×6 pinhole camera

Sometimes the first roll of film through a new camera doesn’t come out exactly as you expected. This was the case with my new Reality So Subtle 6×6 pinhole camera. I am not new to pinhole photography and have at least a dozen pinhole cameras including the 6×17 version of the Reality So Subtle. All have their quirks and after using them I learn what they are and am usually very happy with my results. Not so happy with these.

I don’t know what happened and why I got so much vignetting. If any of you have an idea what happened, please tell me. I doubt it is the camera. It is the “it’s not you, it’s me”. I must be doing something wrong. I just don’t know what it is. I also over exposed most of my photos and this seldom happens to me.

So I decided to post the whole roll, even the one frame that I can’t even identify.

I am going to put a roll of Ektar in the camera and head to downtown Portland on Thursday and try again. These were all taken with Fuji Neopan 100. I put the exposure times in the ‘captions’.

Of all my pinhole cameras I have two favorites: my Zero Image 2000 and my Ilford Titan 4×5. I get constant results with these two cameras and I highly recommend them. The verdict is still out on my new one. I want to like it because it is small and is easily carried in my purse. I like the 6×6 format that is also quite wide. It’s also easy to load. Time will tell.

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in cameras, film, Oregon, Photography, pinhole and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

