Before the big bloom

Every March photographers swarm to the Portland waterfront to capture photos of the cherry trees which seem to signal the start of Spring. This year has been wet and cold so the trees are a little late blooming. I managed to get down there twice this year. These photos are from the week before the peak bloom when few people were under the trees. My photos from peak bloom are still in the camera and I need to get those developed next week.

So enjoy a bit of pink here.

cherry trees (2 of 7)

cherry trees (3 of 7)

I love it when people dress to coordinate with the trees

cherry trees (1 of 7)

cherry trees (7 of 7)

cherry trees (4 of 7)

I seldom get to see this bridge being raised

cherry trees (5 of 7)

The Steel Bridge, the only double deck bridge in the world with independent lifts

(all photos were taken with a Hasselblad 500CM and Kodak Ektar 100 film. Scanned on an Epson V700)

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Hasselblad, Photography, Portland and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Before the big bloom

  1. kris riley says:

    I can’t wait to be there for the blooms… a handful more years to go. Beautiful photos.

Leave a Reply

