testing

With our one dry day since January I decided to take my new Wista  4×5 camera  out for a test run. I was testing several lenses, setting up the camera in one spot and not moving, so I could evaluate each lens and its field of view.

Here are some of my results:

Wista4x5_StJohnsBr054

300 mm lens. I had trouble with the focus on this and had to extend the bellows to the full 12″. Decided not to keep this lens. Mistake?

Wista4x5_StJohnsBr053

80mm lens. Pretty happy with this one. Keeping this lens

Wista4x5_150mm072

150 mm lens. Keeping this lens

Wista4x5_80mm079

203 mm lens. Obviously a bad lens and undesirable vignetting. I could keep this for dreamy scenes but the vignetting puts me off

Waiting for better weather and then will go out for more testing. One thing you need to know before setting up a large format camera, you will attract a lot of attention. I had several groups who had to poke their heads under the dark cloth to check out the glass only to exclaim, “it’s upside down”. Yes, it is. But there is nothing quite like using a large format camera. It slows you down and you have to make each image count. I can’t wait to get back out again.

(all photos taken under the St Johns Bridge in Portland with a Wista 4×5 camera with Ilford delta 100, 1/30th of a second at f11)

 

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in cameras, film, Photography, Portland and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

