when the city shuts down

When it snows in the Portland area the city comes to a standstill. Chains are required on all major roads into and out of Portland. So what can you do? You go out and play.

These photos are all from my neighborhood.

dsc07858

out my front gate

dsc07862

my house

dsc07866

my crab apple tree

dsc07868

my road

dsc07873

my house on the right

dsc07877

near my nephew’s house

dsc07883

oops, tree down

dsc07887

do we have to wait for the light to change? not many cars on the road today

dsc07888

walkers

dsc07894

just a creek

dsc07911

through the woods

dsc07921

finally kids are coming out to play

dsc07923

one of our many neighborhood parks

dsc07929

wish it would completely freeze over

dsc07932

found all the people

dsc07938

no school today. play time

dsc07944

some were done already and heading home

dsc07947

kids having fun

So I think the snow is over for this week, but tonight the streets will freeze and turn to an ice rink. I’m staying home.

(taken with a Sony A6000 without correcting for white balance)

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Daily Life, Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to when the city shuts down

  1. David says:

    Downtown Portland is pretty quiet today, Nordstrom gave up around 1:00 and shut the doors!

Leave a Reply

