Inheritance isn’t always about money

Part 1

My husband was lucky enough to inherit some glass plates from his Mom who had a friend whose lodger was once in the entrainment industry.  The family’s last name was Goulet, and yes a relative of the singer Robert Goulet. The housemate and three sisters, Golda, Ruby and Pearl,  lived together and none ever married. The housemate was once the manager at the Portland Orpheum Theater during vaudeville days. So along with receiving some glass plates we also received some hand written autograph photos which I may share later.

I wish I knew who all the people are in these plates, but I don’t. Still they are interesting to look at especially when you realize that each photo took some time making. Not only were exposures long, but processing was tedious and chemicals were nasty. It’s surprising that any of these glass gems survived since they are at least 100 years old.

I scanned each image on an Epson V700. I had to rest the plate directly on the scanner bed without any film guide. Some are in decent shape while others have degraded somewhat.

old_glass001

old_glass009

old_glass998

old_glass999

old_glass006

old_glass995

old_glass993

 

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in collections, glass plates, Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

