Worldwide Pinhole Photography Day 2016

Last year for WPPD Portland hosted a group of like photographers from near and far. This year the group met in Barcelona today, but I’m left at home with an injured foot. I’ve been absent from blogging and Flickr because of my injury. It hasn’t been fun. I miss getting out with my camera and meeting up with my Pinhole Mayhem group. I’m hoping I’m not laid up all summer or I’ll be a very grumpy photographer.

So while stuck at home I made a series of ‘at home’ images with my Zero Image 6×9 pinhole camera. These are just a few from that ongoing series. Life is a bit boring lately, but I’m getting a few things accomplished including a new quilt and several books read.

For those of you who have never used a pinhole camera please try one. It’s just a box with a tiny tiny hole in it that lets light reach the film in the camera. The exposures are long, anything from a few seconds to minutes and hours. A pinhole camera allows you to relax, sit, take in your surroundings because there  is no hurry. Check out the Zero Image website for a selection of beautifully made cameras. There are also many independent people building beautiful cameras so you could just Google”pinhole cameras” and probably come up with hundreds of options. 2016 might just be the year to try something new and then join a group of pinhole crazies for WPPD in 2017.

bed_pinhole097

Days in bed

in_office986

working on a photo book

sewing_pinhole090-Edit-2

cutting out a quilt

sewing_pinhole089

sewing a quilt in media room

laundry_pinhole093

still have to do laundry

porch_pinhole101

resting on the front porch

 

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in An idea of home, crafts, Photography, pinhole and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Worldwide Pinhole Photography Day 2016

  1. Hi Gretchen,
    Those are a wondeful set of pinhole photographs. I am glad to see you were making them despite your injured foot. It was a pity you could not be here for pinhole day.
    We had a very pleasant weather and I think everybody enjoyed gathering with each others and making photos around the city. I think you will be able to see some of then in the coming days.
    Recover soon of your injury and enjoy shooting.
    All the best!

    • gretchen says:

      Thank you. I am enjoying photos from WPPD. I’ll see Monica next month so I can hear all about it. It looks to be such a beautiful city. I’m sorry I had to miss it.
      Any discussions about next year? I better be okay by then

  2. David says:

    Glad to see you are making the most of your incarceration!

Leave a Reply

