What you do on Halloween

I visited one of the Victorian cemeteries in London, West Norwood. There are 7 cemeteries that are considered the great Victorian cemeteries, called the Magnificant Seven after the 1960’s American Western. I can’t get my head around that. Why would cemeteries in London be named after an American movie? I don’t know.

  
When London was filling up with dead bodies during the 1800’s and decaying bodies were polluting the water and causing epidemics like cholera, the city had to take action. Cemeteries were built on the outskirts of London and being the Victorian era families had lavish memorials and headstones built. They were extravagant and showy.

 

entrance gate

 
I have visited others n the Magnificant 7, but for Halloween I decided to tour West Norwood which was a very easy train ride from my base in Beckenham. It was a gorgeous sunny day so instead of riding the train the whole way on my return I decided to walk from Crystal Palace.

These are some of my favorite headstones and memorials.

 

J. W. Gilbert Memorial, Grade II listed building

 
   

Doulton china fame, made of terracotta

 
This one was very difficult to find and as you can see you can barely read the inscription. Sadly she died in childbirth at age 28 

Beeton, famous for writing cooking books

 
 

inventor of automatic machine gun

 
In one corner of the cemetery the memorials are dedicated to people of Greek ancestory.    
   There are many areas where stones have been vandalized. It’s sad.

  

Veterans’ Memorial   

Never Forget

  

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

