Kew

The Royal Botanical Garden at Kew in London is well known for its Victorian glass Palm house, but it’s the research done there that is most impressive.

  
I’ve been to London 26 times, only known because my husband counts, and I had never been to Kew. I thought it was about time and yesterday with a forecast of dry and balmy weather in the afternoon I thought it the perfect day to go. It was about 1 1/2 hour train journey from my base in SE London. Only one transfer at Blackfriars so relatively easy. Walking out of the train station at Kew, it’s an easy 3/4 mile walk to the Victoria Gate. 

   
   
Now for the reality, at least for me. The glass Palm house was majestic, but I have to admit, stepping inside into that heat and I was out in a flash. My camera wasn’t too happy either.  

  
I walked the grounds, stopped for lunch and bought a few more books. Clocked 10 miles in all yesterday. But I have to be honest, living in the Pacific NW with the arboretum in Protland, the Mt Hood National forest a few miles away, and the majestic redwoods just south of Oregon, I didn’t really see anything Kew that I haven’t seen at home. I am not trying to be snobby and the research done at Kew is remarkable, but I felt like I was having a stroll at home, which is not really so bad, is it?

   
   

Reality hits and I know I am in England when I come across the buildings.

 

Queen Charlotte’s cottage

  
 I also visited the National Archives. Great place for history buffs and genealogical researchers.

  
Then I walked along the Circular Drive and popped in to two cemeteries.

  
 It’s getting dark earlier so I headed back to the train at 4:30 and happened to reach Blackfrairs at the perfect time for some lovely views down the Thames…..or is it up?

   
   

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

