Regent’s Canal

I walked an 8-mile stretch of the Regent’s Canal today, starting at Warwick Underground Station and ending at Kings Cross. I’ve walked part of the canal about 4 years ago but this time, with the help of David Fathers’ book, “The Regent’s Canal”. It is a wonderfully illustrated book that takes you from bridge to bridge, pointing out items of interest along the way. It is not possible for me to share all the photos I took today, but some of the landmarks that interested me are as follows:

Browning Pool, named after Robert  Browning the husband of Elizabeth Barrett Browning.  His body lies in the Poet’s Corner of Westminster Abbey. 1812-1889.

 
The home of Guy Gibson, the pilot leader of the Dambusters, who led the raid of the Ruhr Valley in 1943 and was awarded the Victoria Cross. 1918-1944.

  

The home of Nancy Mitford of the Mitford famous Mitford sisters. 
  
  
The Feng Shang Princess, floating Chinese restaurant, sitting within the Cumberland Spur. 

  
Crocker’s Folly, built by Frank Crocker of the Great Central Railway fame. He hoped the railway station would be close by but it turned out to be built further away at Marylebone. He died in 1904.

  
The Pirate Castle, built in 1966 by Lord St. David for disadvantaged youth.

  
 
The MTV Studios:  

  
The odd Grand Union Walk housing built in 1988 and not weathering too well. Kind of reminded me of Airstream trailers that have lost their luster.

   
 
And of course, the Camden Locks. So much here to see that I will save it for more detail later.

   
   
My information comes from the book I mentioned in my opening.

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

