Summer is gone

I don’t know where I have been this summer. The weather was so hot that I didn’t get out with my cameras as much as usual. You’d think I would love all the hot, sunny, bright blue skies but when the temperatures get over 80 I tend to melt. I used to be able to bask in the sun for hours, but not any more. Plus, as a photographer, that harsh light is not my favorite.

I escaped to the beach a few times where it was only slightly cooler. As in the past I traveled light with my little cheap la Sardina Lomography camera and my Zero Image pinhole. The La Sardina photos are so grainy and of poor quality that I can’t be bothered to remove the dust particles from the negatives. I think it is time to go back to taking my Hasselblad to the beach, but I worry about getting sand in it….not a good thing.

I used Kodak Ektar 100 film for these pinhole images:

beach_pinhole962

beach_pinhole963

CannonBeach_pinhole847

CannonBeach_pinhole848

CannonBeach_pinhole851

For the La Sardina camera, I used Kodak Portra 400 35mm film:

beach_LaSardinaPortra921

beach_LaSardinaPortra918

beach_LaSardinaPortra914

beach_LaSardinaPortra909

beach_LaSardinaPortra907

beach_LaSardinaPortra906

beach_LaSardinaPortra905

Fall is in the air as temperatures have dropped and wet stuff is falling from the sky. I am ready.

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

