Plastics

The famous word of advice in the movie “The Graduate”. Who would have known that advice was probably spot on. Plastics dominate our lives and several of my cameras are made of the stuff. When I go to the beach I take my plastic cameras with their plastic lenses because sand and salt water won’t damage them. I’ve had the $200 repair bill on my husband’s Canon dSLR so I’ve learned. I forget to use my Holga PAN and should take it out more often. the photos are soft due to the plastic lens, but it’s light, easy to use and I don’t worry about it.

Here are some photos I took last week using this panoramic camera:

We went along the Portland waterfront during the last weekend of Portland’s Rose Festival.

ships_HolgaPAN740-Edit-2

the fleet is in town

people_HolgaPAN741-Edit-2

cute as Pooh

dragon boat races

dragon boat races

Salmon Street fountain

Salmon Street fountain

cooling off in one of many Portland fountains

cooling off in one of many Portland fountains

We left the waterfront to take a little drive to the Columbia River Gorge:

Gorge_HolgaPAN733-Edit-2

bird's eye view

bird’s eye view

I finished out my week with a trip to the Oregon coast. We are so lucky to live so close to both the Pacific ocean, the Columbia Gorge and Mt Hood.

from Ecola State Park and the opening scene in the movie "The Goonies" celebrating its 30th anniversary

from Ecola State Park and the opening scene in the movie “The Goonies” celebrating its 30th anniversary

Ecola State park. Looking for the treasure clues

Ecola State park. Looking for the treasure clues

Haystack Rock on Cannon beach

Haystack Rock on Cannon beach

a great spot to watch the waves

a great spot to watch the waves

Don’t forget that an inexpensive plastic camera can create some great memories.

BTW, I just heard that Oregon is experiencing the driest summer since 1940. I know we need the rain, but these sunny days at the beach are just lovely.

(all photos taken with my Holga PAN and Kodak Portra 400 film)

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

