Worldwide Pinhole Photography Day in Portland, Oregon

One day a year, on the last Sunday in April, pinhole photographers all over the world meet-up and make pinhole images. Believe me, we don’t limit ourselves to this one day. Most of us are making pinhole images all year long. There isn’t a photography style much more primitive than using a pinhole camera. There is no view finder and no lens. To shoot pinhole is to be patients, use your eye and expect some bad photos. Exposures can go from a few seconds to many minutes or even hours.

This year, Portland was one of the cities across the world that played  host to people from other States and countries. The day really stretched into a weekend and beyond. It included a lot of food, drink and some early mornings.

Here I am presenting Part I of WPPD-Portland, Oregon, #GitTogether. This was on Saturday, April 25th. A small group of us met up at Newspace Center of Photography to view the beautiful portraits taken by Jake Shivery, owner of Blue Moon Camera and Machine. We then moved on to St Johns, the camera shop, the St Johns Bridge and lunch. The evening concluded with beer and food at the Lucky Lab on SE Hawthorne. I left early because I was one of the food, not really, who planned to meet-up at 6:30 a.m. on the SW waterfront.

At Newspace:

Monica setting up her pinhole camera

Monica and maybe Todd setting up her pinhole camera

yep, Ron and I are on the wall, dressed as Old English Sheepdogs, what else?

yep, Ron and I are on the wall, dressed as Old English Sheepdogs, what else?

Moving on to St Johns:

there was a wedding under the arches

there was a wedding under the arches

under the St Johns Bridge

under the St Johns Bridge

trolley

trolley

lunch time

lunch time

Not sure how it happened, but I didn’t make a single pinhole image at the night’s activities. Oops.

Althea photos were taken with my Zero Image pinhole cameras. if you’d like to see more images from all over the world then please go to: http://www.pinholeday.org

I will post photos from the actual day tomorrow.

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

