no sugar

Three weeks ago I gave up sugar, refined and hidden. I’d be lying if I said it was easy because it is not. I feel better and have lost weight and that’s great, but I did it because I keep reading how bad it is for you and I want to be healthy. Once you start reading all food labels it is shocking just how much sugar gets added to foods you’d never suspect had sugar in them.

I decided this sounded like a pinhole opportunity. So I went to the grocery store and filled my cart with all the treats I cannot eat. The last photo was my area of the grocery I visit the most now….veggies.  I wish I had positioned my camera a little lower so more of the sugar-filled foods would show up, but you get the idea. I might have to go and do it again. The hardest part was putting all the food back on the shelves after the 5-minute long exposures.

Easter candy and the big bunny

Easter candy and the big bunny

chips and cookie aisle

chips and cookie aisle

cakes and pastries

cakes and pastries

my new home, the veggie department

my new home, the veggie department

(all photos were taken with a Zero Image pinhole camera, Kodak Ektar 100 film, and 5 minute exposures)

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in film, pinhole and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to no sugar

  1. Dan B says:

    You are correct about sugar in everything. I do something close to what you did in grocery stores, I look at what I thought I wanted and talk myself out of it. It doesn’t always work, but it does more often than not. Add a bit of extra fun at the grocers by filling the cart and walking away. It’s fun for you, and creates jobs for people to put the items back. 😁

Leave a Reply

