Let’s Talk Carpet

The carpet at the Portland airport has attracted world-wide attention. It’s really ridiculous, but there it is. 30 years ago when the carpet was installed Portlanders hated it. I doubt anyone can remember what was there before the current design, but I do remember no one liked the new aqua contemporary design. Now 30 years later the carpet is worn out and new carpet is being laid. People are up in arms, there is an Instagram site for photos of the carpet, and just this past week the carpet was made the Grande Marshal of the Starlight Parade at this year’s Rose Festival. Well, it keeps us all laughing and helps Portland defend its title of “Keeping Portland Weird”. I can’t let it go and so I had to join in the fun. As people come and go from the airport they stop and take photos of their feet on the aqua mat. I must say I did the same and it is now my profile photo on Facebook. Last week I hauled my aqua blue typewriter out there and spent several hours making pinhole images of said carpet and my beautiful typewriter. Now you would think I’d attract attention, that security might ask what I was up to, or people would ask me about my pinhole camera (as they usually do), and certainly why I had a typewriter and not a lap top. But, NO-ooooo, Not a single person gave me a second glance. What does that say about Portland? People expect us to do strange things. So today I am sharing a few photos from last week at PDX:

the new carpet

the old carpet

my beautiful Remington

my beautiful Remington

my socks, my bunny and a typewriter sitting in the middle of the floor. No one noticed

my socks, my bunny and a typewriter sitting in the middle of the floor. No one noticed

Mr bunny and a squirrel

Mr bunny and a squirrel with my new PDX carpet inspired Timbers scarf

a section of the new carpet design...it's greener

a section of the new carpet design…it’s greener

it's a beauty of a typewriter

it’s a beauty of a typewriter

have a safe trip

have a safe trip

(all photos were taken with a Zero Image pinhole camera and Kodak Ektar film. The interior images were between 3 and 10  minutes long)

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Let’s Talk Carpet

  1. peggyoleary says:

    I like your typewriter better than that damn carpet!

Leave a Reply

