When it all goes wrong

Last week I spent two days at the coast making images with my Hasselblad 500 CM and a NEW back. Big mistake. I have never had a problem with film backs for my Hassie, but it seems this one was defective and almost all of my photos were ruined. Not happy.

OregonCoast_Hassie745

OregonCoast_Hassie753

Luckily the store where I bought it will ‘share’ in the cost having the light leak fixed, as my warranty is over.

OregonCoast_Hassie747

OregonCoast_Hassie748

I did have a nice two days driving from Cape Kiwanda to Astoria. The Oregon coast is fairly unique in that its beaches have public access. It’s also a short drive from my house to the coast so I will return next week to retrace my steps and make new photos. I am actually hoping for cloudy skies so that the images will be a bit more interesting.

OregonCoast_Hassie761

OregonCoast_Hassie765

OregonCoast_Hassie764

I am sharing these rejects here because I think it is important to share the failures as well as the successes. It is juts one of the properties about shooting film and why, I imagine, many of you have abandoned it and switched to digital. I do both, but I still prefer my film. Instead of firing off a hundred images I exposed only 2 rolls, 24 images, in my two days. Just think if I had a bad SD card and lost even more photos…..that has happened to me too.

A few of the photos might be salvageable with a little work.

OregonCoast_Hassie769

OregonCoast_Hassie771

OregonCoast_Hassie744

These photos were made with Ilford HP4 125 film and developed at home for 6.5 minutes with Ilfosol 3.

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in beach, Cape Kiwanda, coast, film, Hasselblad, Oceans, Oregon, Oregon coast, Photography, water and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to When it all goes wrong

  1. I’ve had this happen too, Gretchen. Fitted some new light seals and now tape over the slot when the dark slide is removed, just to make sure. Don’t want another roll of film ruined.

  2. David says:

    Ghost in the machine!

  3. Fred says:

    Ouch ouch ouch! The agony of being a film shooter…been there. Done that. Share your pain.

Leave a Reply

