The Pumpkin Patch with Donna and Monica

(also posted over at 52rolls.net)

For our October outing we went back to the Pumpkin Patch on Sauvie Island with a bag of masks and our pinhole cameras.

The morning started with two of us taking public transportation to the Arbor Lodge Coffee house in North Portland on Rosa Parkway. What a charming place, great coffee and cinnamon rolls and located across the street from our MAX stop. I have been working on a series of coffee shops with my pinhole and this one was only 5 minutes long because of the sun streaming in the front windows. After everyone collected themselves we made our way along highway 30 to the island and our destination.

coffee at Arbor Lodge

coffee at Arbor Lodge

We walked out into the field and made some images of people choosing pumpkins and posing for photos. Most of these images were exposed for 10 seconds.

pumpkins for as long as the eye could see

pumpkins for as long as the eye could see

pumpkins

This Mom was trying to get her daughter to hold still for me, without much success

This Mom was trying to get her daughter to hold still for me, without much success

sitting in the pumpkins

Then we decided to walk through the corn maze. On the way we did our required tree shot at 26 seconds. Although I opened my camera and ran around to the back of the tree, it still wasn’t long enough for me to show up in the image. On our way to the maze we decided to climb the hay bale pyramid along with a bus load of school kids. In the maze, at each intersection  we had to answer some questions that would point us either in the right or wrong direction. We made it to the center. Of course we had to stop for photos and because of the shade these were about 30 seconds long.

I am in here somewhere

I am in here somewhere

Monica and Donna on the hay pyramid

Monica and Donna on the hay pyramid

with a bunch of rowdy school kids

with a bunch of rowdy school kids

hiding in the maze

hiding in the maze

walking out of the maze and making an image by holding camera as I walked

walking out of the maze and making an image by holding camera as I walked

We spent so much time at the Pumpkin Patch that we got hungry and felt it was time for lunch. We drove into the small section of N Portland called St Johns where we had lunch at Proper Eats (45 minute exposure) , took some photos on the square(13 seconds) and then dropped off our film for development at Blue Moon Camera and Machine. I used Kodak Ektar 100 in my Zero Image pinhole camera. The it was back to the MAX stop and my ride home ($2.00 round-trip to go about 60 miles!)

St Johns Square

St Johns Square

lunch at Proper Eats

lunch at Proper Eats

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in film, Photography, pinhole and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

