WWPD past and future

Yesterday was World Wide Pinhole Day and I went out an exposed a roll of film at the Pittock Mansion in Portland. The weather was iffy, but the rain held off while I made my photos. I chose the Vermeer Anamorphic pinhole camera to make 4 distorted images of the mansion. This is only the second roll that I have put through this gem and the learning curve is a bit steep for me as I have never before used a camera that has the film on a curved plane.

Vermeer anamorphic pinhole camera

Vermeer anamorphic pinhole camera

After I took my images we went to Nell’s Cafe on NW 20th for a delicious, but noisy breakfast. We’ve eaten there before, but sat outside, and I have to admit that although the food is wonderful, the staff attentive and the decor classy; I probably won’t sit inside again. The volume level is just too high for me. The voices echo and bounce off the walls. We could barely talk to each other. I did make a pinhole image and the waiters were very interested in my Zero Image 6×6 camera(film still in camera) which I had to sit on top of the water bottle because I took the wrong table top tripod with me. Oh well.

Pittock_anamorphic424-2 Pittock_anamorphic423-2

Then it was off to the ‘Finding Vivian Maier’ film showing at the Cinema 21 on, what else, NW 21st. There we met up with fellow Portland pinholers and were entertained for almost 90 minutes on this amazing woman’s life. Wow, she was a strange one. I’ve discussed her story here before and don’t want to bore you again with the finding of her stash of negatives and undeveloped film. If you ‘Google’ her name you can learn more, but after seeing the movie I just have more questions. You get the feeling that she was a bit paranoid, certainly a hoarder, a man hater, and maybe an abuser who might have been abused as a child. All her charges said she was weird…..that’s an understatement. The one thing everyone agrees on is that she was a photographic genius. if you get a chance to see the movie, I highly recommend it, but I warn you: you won’t leave with a warm and fuzzy feeling.

Pittock_anamorphic422-2 Pittock_anamorphic421-2

After the movie I was talking to another pinhole friend, Donna Stewart, and we are hashing over the idea of an all-women pinhole show for next April, to celebrate WWPD 2015. We will be gathering pinhole photographers from the Portland area to discuss the ‘hows’ and ‘wheres’ to put this together. I’ll keep you posted. Oh, and if you are asking why all women? Because the last pinhole show in Portland was all men. It’s our turn.

(exposures were between 20 and 32 seconds, Ilford delta 100 film, developed at home in Ilfosol 3 for 6 minutes)

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in cameras, film, Photography, pinhole, Portland and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to WWPD past and future

  1. Fabulous images of the mansion, Gretchen. The Vermeer camera looks great. Thanks for the review of the Vivian Maier film, her photographs are stunning. I’m waiting for the film to come out on dvd and look forward to seeing it. I hope the all-women pinhole show in 2015 is a success … will give those pinhole men in Portland something to think about πŸ˜‰

    • gretchen says:

      It’s funny, but I don’t usually notice gender issues, but it was pointed out to me so I said “Ok, let’s just do women”. Not exactly fair, but what goes around, comes around. LOL
      I also want to buy the Vivian Maier film on DVD. I understand that the BBC also produced a movie about her life and can be watched online. Plan to do that too. The more I learn about her the more I want to know.
      Have a great Spring

      • Great idea to do a just women exhibition, wish I lived nearer and could attend. The BBC movie about Vivian Maier is excellent. Enjoy the Spring.

        • gretchen says:

          I think you should visit Oregon. I’ve been to England 25 times (because my husband counts).
          I will watch the BBC version.
          BTW: love your printing

          • Would like to visit Oregon one day. I sailed on the Great Lakes back in the 1980s which was fantastic.

            I’m so pleased you like the prints πŸ™‚ Hoping to create some platinum prints of sea stacks after visiting Scotland later this year (will be using a Hasselblad 500C). How is your platinum printing going?

          • gretchen says:

            Sore subject regarding the printing. no lightbox. words exchanged. soon? I want to do platinum for the pinhole show next year.
            Hasselblad: the favorite of all my cameras.
            Planning on Scotland in 2015

Leave a Reply

