Steakburger

This poor blog has been so ignored lately because I have been posting weekly at 52.rolls.net. Then last week I was gone all week resting along the Salmon River with a friend. I did manage to expose a couple of rolls in my pinhole camera and being that Sunday is World Wide Pinhole Day I do hope to get the film back soon and posted here.

SteakBurger_BrBullsEye067

SteakBurger_BrBullsEye064

In the meantime I did want to tell you about an old family restaurant in Vancouver, Washington, called Steakburger. It  opened in the early 60’s about the time Kodak quit making the Bulls Eye Camera. I decided it was time to pair these two before the wrecking ball crashes into the restaurant.  Sadly, Fred Meyers has purchased the property and plans to build……..a gas station. Oh goodie. I believe the burger place closes its doors sometime in May. If you are in the area then it’s time to go get  one more burger and maybe even play a round of miniature golf in the back.

SteakBurger_BrBullsEye063

SteakBurger_BrBullsEye062

SteakBurger_BrBullsEye065

 

The Kodak Brownie Bullseye camera uses 620 film which I can purchase at Blue Moon Camera in the St Johns neighborhood of Portland. I had planned to use b&w film so I could develop at home, but then thought the sign would be better in color. The Bullseye camera was introduced in 1954 and abandoned in 1960. It is a box made of Bakelite with an eye level viewer. It was designed by Arthur Crapsey(I know, change your name), who went to work for Kodak after WWII when he was invalided because of an accident while flying with the Air Corps. He lost his right leg. At Kodak he went on to design the Brownie Star Series and the Instamatic M6 and later became the manager of the design team. The negatives are 2 1/4 by 3 1/4. I used Kodak 400 speed film, 120 respooled on to a 620 spool, and I scanned them on an Epson V700.

Brownie Bulls Eye

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in American Roadside, cameras, Daily Life, film, Food, lomography, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

