Inner SE Portland with my Holga, part 1

I finally got out of the house with the sun shining and the fragrance of Spring blossoms filling the air. I decided to go walk another neighborhood in Portland, this time choosing a small area bordered on the north by SE Hawthorne, on the south by SE Stephens, and between SE 27th and 39th. I started out looking for the home of the author of a wonderful blog called ‘Posie Gets Cozy’. I love the photos she shares of her young daughter, her home’s interiors and her lovely crafts. I found her home on SE Market and so started my walk from there.

house of one of my favorite bloggers

home of one of my favorite bloggers

tree in her parking strip

tree in her parking strip

I discovered a wonderful neighborhood full of early 20th-century homes. Most were well kept and I did not see a single ‘for sale’ sign.

English cottage

Spring green

flat roofed cutie

What I did see were the first signs of Spring,

garden time

grass edging

Spring blossoms

a fun community garden to grow organic edibles,

community garden

a park for kids and dogs,

play park

two churches,

LDS church

Presbyterian church

and all near to the hustle and bustle of SE Hawthorne and a wonderful restaurant, The Hazel Room, where I had brioche french toast topped with fresh fruit. Being so close to my favorite fabric and quilt shop, Cool Cottons, I had to stop in for a chat and walked out with more fabric.

wonderful atmosphere for coffee, breakfast and lunch

wonderful atmosphere for coffee, breakfast and lunch

my favorite fabric/quilt shop

my favorite fabric/quilt shop

I love discovering these hidden gems and this neighborhood had a wonderful family feel to it. I could easily live here. As a bonus, you’ll find these wonderful little lending libraries that dot the streets and some interesting art.

borrow a book and leave a book

borrow a book and leave a book

mosaic house artGiving Tree

(all photos taken with my Holga and Sprocket Rocket plastic cameras and Fuji 400 film)

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

