We have snow

It’s a snow day in the Portland area. It doesn’t take much to make this city come to a standstill. When I first moved here there was only one snow plow for the whole city, but over the years they have added more, however the side streets still don’t get plowed. I resort to public transport or my feet.

I set out for a walk this morning at 8:30 and just got home after 1:00 pm. When I left the snow had stopped and I was disappointed at how little had fallen over night. But now it is coming down heavily and is supposed to keep coming for the next 4 hours. Then return again tomorrow.

Here are some photos from my walk. I know some of this looks familiar as I walked through Graham Oaks Park which I do most days, but then I also walked down to the Willamette River. I’m going to warm up with a cup of tea, let more snow fall and then go out again.

snow 2-7-2014-5

snow 2-7-2014-2

snow 2-7-2014-18

snow 2-7-2014-24

snow 2-7-2014-32

snow 2-7-2014-31

snow 2-7-2014-30

snow 2-7-2014-34

snow 2-7-2014-35

snow 2-7-2014-11

back home and my front porch

back home and my front porch

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Daily Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

