A tourist in your own city: Week 1, Roll 1of 52 rolls.net

walking toward the Willamette

walking toward the Willamette

In the last couple of years I have discovered the fun of being a tourist in my own city. It’s not that i don’t do other distant travel, but getting to know one’s own city like you would a place you travel to for a few weeks a year can be fun and very enlightening. Often I will just put a camera in my purse and choose a specific neighborhood and spend the day walking the streets making photos of whatever captures my fancy. Occasionally I will research a neighborhood on the internet, just like I do when I visit a foreign country, and map out an itinerary.  I am finding that Portland has many diverse areas and I have only yet scratched the surface.

Portland is home to more than 588,000 people. It is a young city and only became incorporated in 1851 with a population of 800. It is now places 28th on the population list in the USA and Oregon is the #1 State that people moved to, from other areas, in 2013. Portland has a marine type climate with warm summers and cool wet winters. This winter we have experienced a lot of fog because the east winds have not kicked up to blow it out, but our weather makes Portland a great place to garden and is called the ‘city of roses’. It is also home to the largest number of micro breweries in the world!

We are blessed to be within a 90 minute drive of both the mountains (Mt Hood elevation: 11,000+ feet) and the Pacific ocean. Two rivers ribbon their way through the city: the Willamette and the Columbia. It’s a great place to live.

One day this month I returned to the downtown area. I enjoy taking photos of people on the streets and of the architecture. On this particular day I clocked 9 miles on my Garmin Forerunner. So strap on your trainers and go for a walk with me. This is Nike country….

we are a bike city

we are a bike city

A stop in to pick up a copy of the very best British photography magazine: "Black and White Photography"

A stop in to pick up a copy of the very best British photography magazine: “Black and White Photography”

walking along our mass transit tracks

walking along our mass transit tracks

the streets are lined with trees

the streets are lined with trees

still too cold for coffee outside

still too cold for coffee outside

time for lunch?

time for lunch?

I must return for a tour of the Pioneer Courthouse

I must return for a tour of the Pioneer Courthouse

architecture under glass

architecture under glass

waiting under a transit cover...time to go home

waiting under a transit cover…time to go home

(all photos taken with my Canon Ae1 and Ilford Delta 400. Scanned on an Epson V700)

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in cameras, Daily Life, film, Neighborhoods, Photography, Portland and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

