New goals for 2014

Notice I didn’t say ‘resolutions’. I just read that only 40% of the population makes new Years resolutions and of those less than half keep them so why set yourself up for failure?  By setting ‘goals’, I can meet them or not without feeling bad. However my goals should be fairly easy for me. I’ve joined a new photography group called ’52 rolls’. In the next 52 weeks I am to shoot a roll of film each week and then post the results to their site http://www.52rolls.net

just a few of my collection

just a few of my collection

Lomography cameras and pinhole

Lomography cameras and pinhole

I am going to take the challenge a couple of steps further by using 52 different cameras. Yes, they are all my cameras. I don’t know how many cameras I actually have. Some are mine, some were my mothers and some I’ve collected. I know I have about 14 Lomography cameras, 5 pinhole cameras, several medium format and large format, 4 Polaroids…….on and on. Week one will be Lomography’s La Sardina camera. It takes 35 mm film and looks like a sardine can.

La Sardina

La SardinaI am going to add another goal to this: walk 5.2 miles each day taking photos of my routes. I was going to make it 52 miles/week but I might not be able to do that every week so at 5.2 mpd I have made another easily obtainable goal.

On week two I am going to use my Canon AE1.

Canon AE1

Canon AE1

My other addition to the challenge of 52 rolls of film in 52 weeks, will be walking at least 5.2 miles per day. I’ll take photos of each of my walking routes.

out_for_a_walk_La_Sardin985

out_for_a_walk_La_Sardin974-Edit

Besides posting my weekly results here, some of the photos will be on Flickr and others on the 52 rolls blog,  also at WordPress. Hope you will join me.

(the camera photos were taken with a FujiFilm Instaz Mini and I can now say I wish I had bought the more expensive one that allows better focusing or next time I better use a tripod. The bottom two photos were taken with the La Sardina which I will be using in week 1)

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in cameras, film, lomograohy, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New goals for 2014

  1. mcampbell says:

    Sounds like a great project. I like that you will use a different camera each week. I will look forward to seeing your results.

Leave a Reply

