Reading through my Innova Pinhole camera

A couple of months ago I picked up my new Innova Pinhole Camera made by Don Pyle, Portland, Oregon. It is a gorgeous and beautifully made wooden box with an aperture of f 128. I’m still working on getting my exposures just right and think I underexposed a lot of them. It’s all that reciprocity stuff that I need to remember.

I know I have mentioned before that I prefer a real book over an electronic reader. As a kid I would take my allowance on  Saturdays and ride my bike to the mall(because we could in those days) and spend my money on a book. Nothing much has changed over the years. When I moved 7 years ago I had to unload boxes and boxes of books and it nearly killed me. Some I knew I would never read again and others were just on subjects I was not longer interested. However, I have since filled the void and have books all over my house. My dining room is more library than dining, my extra wide hallway upstairs is lined with bookshelves and brimming with books, book shelves on both sides of the fireplace and bookshelves in the bedrooms. Yes, I am a book alcoholic and not recovering very well.

I like to use my pinhole camera inside bookshops, libraries and anywhere I might sit long enough to have a good read.  The pinhole with its long exposures helps me sit and linger. There is nothing better than the feel, the smell and the look of the typeset …..only a real book can satisfy my needs.

quilting and reading at home

quilting and reading at home

at my sister's

at my sister’s

Multnomah County Library in Portland

Multnomah County Library in Portland

me, reading at a local coffee shop before my darkroom class

me, reading at a local coffee shop before my darkroom class

the dying independent book store

the dying independent book store

(all photos taken with my Innova pinhole camera on Kodak Ektar film and long exposures)

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in cameras, Daily Life, film, Photography, pinhole and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Reading through my Innova Pinhole camera

  1. Dottie says:

    These are gorgeous. Interesting: the bookstore – and books themselves – may be dying, but in this series it’s the humans who are ephemeral.

  2. Cassie says:

    This was really cool to see. Thanks for sharing. That independent bookstore at the end is killer, wish it wasn’t dying.

    • gretchen says:

      I meant that generally independent book stores are dying. This one is in Eureka, California, and I hope it makes it. It was wonderful. Portland used to have so many small little bookshops. We still have some, but over the past 20 years I have seen one after another close. I do my best to keep them open. lol
      Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

