‘The Birds’ and I return

I seem to have disappeared again from my blog. I didn’t mean to, but I’ve been busy with holiday preparations and honestly, after scanning 28 rolls of film from my recent trip to San Francisco I was burned out from sitting in front of my computer. But I am back now and ready to share some of those 28 rolls.

We drove down the coast from Portland to San Francisco planning to stop along the way for some gorgeous Pacific Ocean views. Instead, once we hit the Oregon-California border, we were in deep fog all the way to Mendocino. Now I like fog for moody photos and a sense of creepiness, but I really hoped for California blue skies. One of the places on my list to stop was Bodega Bay, where Alfred Hitchcock filmed the movie ‘The Birds’. It was filmed in 1963 which was just before my family moved from the Bay Area and headed north so I never got to Bodega. That movie was so creepy and scary. Even today when I see a flock of black birds gathering I can picture Suzanne Pleschette getting pecked to death. If you haven’t seen it, please do. I think it is one of Hitchcock’s best.

the bay

the bay

We spent a few hours in the area, it was freezing, taking photos at the different filming locations. Turns out the iconic school and church, where Suzanne runs with the school kids trying to escape the birds, are in the town of Bodega…just west of Bodega Bay. The school house behind the church is now a personal residence, but I guess the owners open it once in a while for the public to have a look.  Turns out being just a few miles west of the coast brought blue skies too.

the Birds are coming

the Birds are coming

school to the left of the church and a bird attacking my head

school to the left of the church and a bird attacking my head

You might recognize the church if you are an Ansel Adams fan. It is one of his very famous photos. Mine is not as nice, but then I would never presume to imitate him.

the church

the church

the road that Suzanne ran along with the kids

the road that Suzanne ran along with the kids

the Bodega General store

the Bodega General store

the restaurant

the restaurant

the patio in front of the restaurant where the birds gathered before they attacked the restaurant windows

the patio in front of the restaurant where the birds gathered before they attacked the restaurant windows

the windows

the windows

the gas station

the gas station

two Hitchcocks?

two Hitchcocks?

(photos were taken with my Holga and Hasselblad medium format cameras with Kodak portra 400 and kodak TMAX400)

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in California, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

