back soon

I’ll be back soon. I just got home from a week’s long trip to San Francisco and 38 rolls of film went to the lab yesterday. I guess I won’t have them back for a week but then I’ll be ready to share. I shot a lot of black and white Ilford and Kodak TriX in both my Canon AE1 and Hasselbald cameras. My husband was using his Noblex 150 and Hasselblad X-Pan cameras and I will share some of those photos too.

We decided to take the coastal route and drive through the redwoods. I haven’t gone that way in years and although it is beautiful, once we hit the California border, instead of sunshine we saw a lot of this:

_MG_0749

_MG_0632

_MG_0658

_MG_0693

The fog dominated our week in San Francisco too. I saw hoping for some iconic Golden Gate Bridge photos at sunset, but when we arrived and I stood right over the bridge I couldn’t even find it. FOG! We still had a great week and managed to walk miles and miles every day opting to leave the car in the garage at our old funky motel in the Marina district.

_MG_0802

_MG_0814

We did have one rather unfortunate mishap. Because the fog was so heavy on the coast and we couldn’t even see the ocean we decided to leave highway 1 and head inland to 101 along why 128. We stopped, and I mean STOPPED, at a little deli/store in Navara(population about 10) and when we went to leave the car wouldn’t start. DEAD. NO CELL SERVICE. The kind store owner allowed us to call AAA, our Honda service person in Portland, and the Honda service department in Ukiah. After hours of waiting for a tow truck we limped in to Ukiah and our car had its starter replaced the next morning. We lost a day. 😦

_MG_0595

In the end we extended our trip and managed to see most of the things on our list. We had to save a couple of things for another trip: Alcatraz and sunset views of the Golden Gate. But we wandered through interesting neighborhoods, ate along the wharf, and visited my Grandfather’s grave at the Presidio. Oh, and we went to a lovely wedding which is why we were there in the first place.

DSCN4432

It was a lovely week and I got to play tourist in my home town, which I left to live in Oregon at the start of my college years.

(stay tuned for many, many more photos)

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Daily Life, from my car, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

