Fall is in the air

We have enjoyed a long dry and hot summer in the Portland area, but now the leaves are changing color, the nights are cooler and I am decorating for Fall( Autumn in Europe). I am fortunate to have trees outside my home office window that I can watch change with the seasons. They seem to be changing color early this year.

yellow maples

smoke bush

I love decorating for this season with the oranges and rusts of pumpkins and leaves, both fake and real.

golden leaves

sunflowers

garlands on top of my hutch

Carnival glass turkey

handmade pumpkins

I add a few Halloween items too.

Halloween lamps

Robin Russell creations

scary snake

It is also a time for baking and my husband made the last peach pie of the season. Soon he’ll be making apple pies and crisps. I’ll be planning for my sugar cookies to share with friends.

fresh peach pie

bread pudding ginger cookies

There will also be a few more nights around our fire pit.

firepit nights

I’m also happy that the weather is changing so that I can get back out with my cameras. I love summer and am glad this was a good one, but the bright blue skies don’t make for the best photography. Soon clouds will filter the light and frost will blanket the ground. I’m ready.

clouds bring beautiful sunrises

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in An idea of home, crafts, Daily Life, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fall is in the air

  1. Tina the Photo Farmer says:

    You have a beautiful eye for photography! So glad I found your blog.

Leave a Reply

