My life by #pinhole

I have to say I don’t get this #hash tag thing. Why am I supposed to use them#? I don’t #tweet and I have an #Instagram account but haven’t used it in at least a year. I hate reading #blogs and #entries when #every other #word is this#######. Okay, I am through with the little rant. Now for some photos.

the Salem Carousel

the Salem Carousel

I went to Salem, Oregon, to walk around the Willamette University campus and visit Greenbaum’s Quilted Forest shop. I wanted to travel light so brought my pinhole camera and a couple rolls of film. Some film is still in one of my cameras, but this is from one roll out of my Zero Image 6×9. Am I supposed to write #Zero Image 6×9? Ha

the fountain in front of the State Capitol

the fountain in front of the State Capitol

The most interesting part of my day was at the Salem Starbucks. A gentleman noticed my pinhole camera sitting on my table and he asked me about it. This went on to a discussion about film vs. digital which seems to be a constant debate with photographers. BTW, I use both and it depends on the situation and the ‘look’ I want. Anyway, the father of this gentleman was in the Navy during WWII. Turns out he was a photographer on his ship stationed in the Pacific. His son said most of the photos were about life on the ship. I asked him if the negatives had been scanned and catalogued. “No”, he said, “I threw them all away”. I said “Not the negatives”. “Yep”. I nearly fainted. He went on to tell me that he didn’t think anyone would find them interesting. Another bit of history has been thrown into the garbage. If people don’t want their negatives I wish they would donate them to their local historical society or find someone still using film who would like to see them, scan them and catalogue them. I can’t tell you how many times I hear stories like this. I am so happy that my Mom kept, labeled and catalogued all her negatives. I have them. I’m scanning them. I will never throw them away and I hope my family won’t when I am gone.

Starbucks, the navy and a pinhole

Starbucks, the navy and a pinhole

I did walk the Willamette University campus. I visited the library. I made some images. I thought about #film, #history and stupid #hash tags.

from a sundial

from a sundial

Willamette University statues

Willamette University statues

me putting my head in

me putting my head in

(all photos taken with #Kodak Ektar 100 and a #Zero Image 2000) no more has tags from me….I hope

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Daily Life, Photography, pinhole and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My life by #pinhole

  1. chmjr2 says:

    Enjoyed your post. Seems that we have the same views on saving pictures.

  2. Fred stillings says:

    Ha! Thought I was the only one with the hash tag blues. Thanks for the wonderful images today…and the laugh!

  3. #Brilliant ##comments about the #####. Way to go #sis.
    PS##love the pix and the story about the negatives also

Leave a Reply

