A look at our 4th

This year I did something different. I didn’t take photos of the fireworks. After a while I get kind of tired of looking at more photos of fireworks. So this year I concentrated more on my neighborhood celebration.

Jule 4, 2013-36

I live in a planned community and one of the things we do is celebrate. We have our own Farmer’s market in the summer, we have movie night in our park, we have an Easter egg hunt, a Christmas lighting ceremony with caroling and we have our 4th of July parade and barbecue. Homeowners contribute $20 annually to help fund the events.

Jule 4, 2013-43

Our 4th of July parade is growing with kids and adults involved. I think you need a red car to be in the parade.

Jule 4, 2013-27

Jule 4, 2013-21

Jule 4, 2013-30

Jule 4, 2013-24

Jule 4, 2013-28

Jule 4, 2013-17

It’s followed by a barbecue of hot dogs and side dishes.

Jule 4, 2013-41

Jule 4, 2013-40

Jule 4, 2013

This year we started the day before with a hot dog roast and s’more making around our fire pit with our next door neighbors and their two girls. I think they just like to play with the fire because they roasted chips until they were black and the marshmallows…..see for yourself.

_MG_9911

_MG_9915

_MG_9920

maybe a bit too done

maybe a bit too done….learning to roast marshmallows

What’s up next: the August movie and camp out in the park.

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in An idea of home, Daily Life, Food, Neighborhoods, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

