Portland Timbers with my Canon AE-1

A few days ago I posted some photos from my old Canon AE-1. I was pretty happy with the results. I’m still learning how to use the camera and adjust the depth of field to get the right exposure. It seems to be a little trickier than my Hasselblad or maybe the Hassie has become second nature to me and continues to be my favorite film camera. I am partial to the square format and the 120 film giving me nice sized negatives to scan.

However, the Canon AE-1 is making for a nice street camera. I put a vintage-style neck strap on it that has a second of carmel-colored suede. It just fits the style of the camera perfectly. And I like the ‘clunk’ sound the camera makes when I push down the shutter button. Can’t be very discreet when taking photos, but so far people are more interested in the camera and not concerned about me taking their photos.

grooming a young fan

grooming a young fan

fans

fans

So roll 2 is back from the lab. Most of it was shot at a Portland Timbers Match. Oh, btw, we are in first place in the MLS. Little old Portland is first! We’ve always had a very popular women’s soccer team, but the Timbers’ fans are filling the stands at every match. We continue to sell-out and Portland is known for having the best fan atmosphere in the league. So here we go:

singing strong

singing strong

waving the green and gold

waving the green and gold

“Portland Timbers, We salute you”

time to go home

time to go home

We won!

after the match some fans are just tuckered out

after the match some fans are just tuckered out

 

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in cameras, Daily Life, film, Photography, Portland, Portland Timbers and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

