My Hasselblad at the beach

I got my film back from the lab, scanned the negatives and removed the dust spots. Removing the dust spots and stray hairs is so tedious. I have a filter running in my office, I clean the negatives and the scanner bed, then I blow off the negatives and the scanner just before I lay down the negatives, but I still get dust. Oh well. I finished working on the photos I took at Cape Kiwanda with my Hasselblad so thought I’d share them today. I still need to work on the photos I took with my pinhole and Holga PAN cameras so those will come later. We are supposed to get rain this week in Portland so that could keep me inside a bit more and give me more time in front of the computer.

CapeKiwanda_Hassie804-Edit

CapeKiwanda_Hassie805-Edit

I hit the beach each morning before sunrise which meant being up at 4:30 in the morning. The benefit was that I almost had the beach to myself. The only other people out this early, and they really didn’t join me until 6:00, were the boarders and the fishermen. Low tide was also around 4 so I was able to walk among the rocks and check out the starfish and other sea creatures. Add the still air and blue skies and the mornings were just about perfect.

CapeKiwanda_Hassie808-Edit

CapeKiwanda_Hassie807-Edit-Edit

CapeKiwanda_Hassie806-Edit

I really like Cape Kiwanda. The beach isn’t crowded. There are dunes and rocks to climb. Colorful starfish to find. And from the time I pull out of my garage and am parking my car at the beach…….80 minutes. I am planning many more visits this year.

CapeKiwanda_Hassie815-Edit

(all these photos were taken with my 1976 Hasselblad 500 CM with Kodak Portra 160 film. I scan on an Epson Perfection V700

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in film, Hasselblad, Oregon, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Hasselblad at the beach

  1. Fred Stillings says:

    Pretty images, must be lovely to have a usually crowded area to yourself! Dust and scanning: hate it! on my Epson 700 it is almost impossible to get a decent image file without a ton of retouching….and one of the reasons I shoot film is to NOT be in front of a computer. An option is a dedicated film scanner like the ones from Nikon. I have an older one and they work great. Cons are that they are very slow and expensive. If you really need a great perfect scan (say for a big print) you can always pay for a drum scan. Danny Burk and Lenny Eiger do great work…huge detailed files….and already retouched!

Leave a Reply

