Opal Creek Wilderness_part 3

On my third outing to the Opal Creek Wilderness I packed my Holga 120 and my Hasselblad 500CM. Oh yes, the pinhole went along too,  but today I am going to share just the two H’s. I hadn’t  planned a third trip in less than a month to an area I had never visited before Worldwide Pinhole Day, but when I took my film to be developed at Blue Moon Camera in N Portland I was talking to Zeb Andrews, the manager, about the green water. He said he had never been there and so we set up a date for another hike.

Zeb setting up his camera

Zeb setting up his camera (taken with my Holga)

Ron scheduled the day off work and away we went. We were blessed with cloudy skies and sprinkles. If it is a bright sunny day then the sun really hits the water and it’s difficult not to blow out the highlights. So the weather that made three photographers happy kept the usual hikers at home. We practically had the place to ourselves.

The next six photos were taken with my Holga:

OpalCreek_Holga745

OpalCreek_Holga744

OpalCreek_Holga741

OpalCreek_Holga739

OpalCreek_Holga708

OpalCreek_Holga707

One thing I noticed was that each time I have been to this location the landscape changes. On this May day the rhodies were blooming as were several species of wild flowers. Just tells you that you need to return to the same place over and over because the scene changes as quickly as the weather.

The following six photos were taken with my Hasselblad:

OpalCreek_Hassie718-Edit

OpalCreek_Hassie720

OpalCreek_Hassie717

OpalCreek_Hassie714

OpalCreek_Hassie710

OpalCreek_Hassie711

We spent a lot of time making pinhole images and so by the time we made it to Jaw Bone Flats the sun was setting and we still had 4 miles to hike back to the car. No time to dilly-dally and as we got closer to car the rain began to fall. I’ll share my pinhole images in another post.

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in film, Hasselblad, Holga, Oregon, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

