Opal Creek, part 2

The first time I had ever been to Opal Creek Wilderness was on World-wide Pinhole Day, April 28th. I have now been there 3 times and want to go back again and again. The green of the water just draws me in. The wilderness area is off hwy 22, east of Salem, Oregon, and only about a 90-minute drive from my home.

the emerald green water

the emerald green water

one of the minor falls

one of the minor falls

rushing water

rushing water

The hike is not difficult, but walking on the rocky floor wreaks havoc with the soles of the feet. Even with good boots and inserts, I must ice the soles when I get home. The loop is about 8 miles long and worth every mile to do the whole thing. The weather on this second trip was hot and we got a bit dehydrated. Luckily the women working at the old mining camp, Jaw Bone Flats, let us into the dining hall where we filled our water bottles for the 4 mile hike out.

several foot bridges

several foot bridges

rocks and water

rocks and water

the old boiler

the old boiler

fire truck

fire truck

So today I am showing some more pinhole photos I took on trip 2. The photos from trip 3 are not back from the lab yet, but when they are I will share them.

picnic lunch with Ron

picnic lunch with Ron

stopping for food on the way home

stopping for food on the way home

(all photos were taken with my Zero Image pinhole camera and long exposures)

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in film, Oregon, Oregon, Photography, pinhole, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Opal Creek, part 2

  1. ashleypaige4 says:

    Great photos and post. I love hiking, and you’re in a great spot for it! Look forward to reading more of your posts soon! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

