Portland under pink fluff, part 2

There is a window of about 3 weeks when the cherry trees bloom in Portland. Some of the most spectacular trees line the SW Waterfront and the Japanese Memorial. Photographers swarm the area trying to get that one iconic photo. Year after year they come down looking for a different angle or a better photo than last year. I must admit that I get a bit sucked in by the pink glow too. I managed a couple of trips down there this year using my Canon digital, my Hasselblad film camera and my pinhole. Here are some of the photos I made with my Hasselblad.

a first peek at pink

a first peek at pink

curving paths under the pink

curving paths under the pink

tunnel of pink

tunnel of pink

enjoying the nice day

enjoying the nice day

photographers swarm the waterfront this time of year

photographers swarm the waterfront this time of year

taking pix

taking pix

don't litter

don’t litter

I think next year I’ll head north to the U of W campus because I hear there are some pretty nice cherry trees lining the campus.

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in film, Hasselblad, Portland and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

