SW Portland Hills with my Hasselblad X-Pan

a peak at downtown Portland

a peek at downtown Portland

I have to say that the neighborhood of SW Portland off  SW Vista high above  downtown is probably in the top five of my favorite places I’d like to live in this city. It might even be #1. In the early 80’s I looked at a house situated on a double lot on Maple Street. It cost $160,000 and I loved it, but at the time it was $10,000 over my budget and my husband didn’t like that it had a detached garage. You know what they say about hind sight? That house is worth well over a million now and probably close to two. Then again the taxes would be out of this world so I would probably not be able to live there now anyway, or so I tell myself. The hills also sit on an earthquake fault line and are subject to landslides. More justification….

WestHills_Ptd_XPan472-Edit

WestHills_Ptd_XPan486-Edit

This does not keep me from walking around the area. I think Spring is my favorite time of year here with trees more than 70 years old in bloom. Most of the houses date from the 1920’s to 40’s.

WestHills_Ptd_XPan475-Edit

WestHills_Ptd_XPan482-Edit

I park my car near one of my favorite restaurants, the Vista Spring Cafe, and walk down the steep hill into what is called the uptown shopping area of the city. Sometimes I keep walking down NW 23rd until I realize I have to walk back up the hill. It’s steep.

WestHills_Ptd_XPan490-Edit

WestHills_Ptd_XPan494-Edit

It’s getting easier, but I can’t help but stop on the Vista Bridge, built in 1925, to enjoy the view and catch my breath. Then it’s onward and upward to the top of the hill and my awaiting car.

WestHills_Ptd_XPan491-Edit

WestHills_Ptd_XPan496-Edit

I’m going to split my photos from last week’s walk into a couple of posts otherwise you might get bored before you get through them. All these photos were taken with my old Hasselblad X-Pan and Kodak Portra 160. I love this camera because I can change between panorama and 6×7 without having to use a whole roll of film first.

Hope you are enjoying your Spring wherever it is  you live.

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in An idea of home, Hasselblad, Neighborhoods, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

