Driving to Pendleton

So who wouldn’t drive 211 miles to visit a quilt shop? I casually mentioned to my husband that I’d like to go to Pendleton, Oregon, to visit a quilt shop that we had seen on our vacation last Fall. An hour later we were in our car for a road trip

trip_to_Pendleton_-_089trip_to_Pendleton_-_091 The weather wasn’t the best, but at least there was no snow or ice. We lucked out with mostly dry weather, and a little drizzle,  in the Columbia River Gorge as we drove east on I-84. We didn’t have time to make any stops because we had to get  to Pendleton before the shop closed and we hadn’t started out until 11:00. I thought the shop closed at 5:00 but turns out it closed at 4:00. We just made it with a little time to shop and buy. So my road photos were all taken out my car’s windshield at about 70-mph.

trip_to_Pendleton_-_001trip_to_Pendleton_-_005trip_to_Pendleton_-_007trip_to_Pendleton_-_019 We walked around the town and, sadly, so much of it has closed up. This seems to be the trend for small towns. The old theater is abandoned but there is a fund-raiser that hopes to raise the money to restore it. Of course we had to stop in to the saddle and boot shop, but when the boots I liked cost $600 we walked out. The store has been there since the late 1800’s and I hope it can remain, but the prices were not in my budget.

trip_to_Pendleton_-_047trip_to_Pendleton_-_075 trip_to_Pendleton_-_071

what the theater used to look like

what the theater used to look like

trip_to_Pendleton_-_065

the theater today

the theater today

trip_to_Pendleton_-_063

Here are the photos from Hamley’s Boot and Saddle shop:

trip_to_Pendleton_-_039-2

trip_to_Pendleton_-_027-2

trip_to_Pendleton_-_031-2

trip_to_Pendleton_-_033-2

trip_to_Pendleton_-_029-2

We wanted to eat at Hamley’s Steak House but neither of us was hungry and I thought it might be nice to head home before it got too dark.

trip_to_Pendleton_-_087trip_to_Pendleton_-_083trip_to_Pendleton_-_079trip_to_Pendleton_-_037trip_to_Pendleton_-_057I was hoping that we would see a gorgeous sunset on the way home as the clouds looked promising….until the rain fell and the dark clouds rolled in. Oh well.

trip_to_Pendleton_-_093

trip_to_Pendleton_-_107

trip_to_Pendleton_-_099

trip_to_Pendleton_-_115

I’m glad we made this little trip because I found out that the quilt shop is being sold or closed in the near future. Luckily I was able to fill out the line of fabric I was looking for and even added a few others. I see another project….

trip_to_Pendleton_-_119

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in from my car, Oregon, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

