I have not been here…..sorry

I have been so busy lately that I have not had time to post to my blog. I have rolls of film to scan, but for now, that will have to wait because I am in the middle of another quilt project.

ZigZag pattern by Sweetwater

ZigZag pattern by Sweetwater

I’m not sure I will ever do another quilt made with triangles. Until I discovered spray starch/sizing this quilt was going to be the death of me. I had to attach 12 printed triangles to 12 plain ones and by the time I’d get the row finished they’d be all wonky. I measured and re-measured before I cut. I pressed each triangle without steam, but I knew there had to be a better way. Hurray for the internet. I googled “making quilts with triangles” and discovered two important tips: use the spray and clip the upper-most tip off the triangle.

cutting 196 triangles

cutting 196 triangles

stacks of 12

stacks of 12

sewing traingles

sewing triangles

ironing with spray starch

ironing with spray starch

places for the sashing

place names for the sashing

adding the sashing

adding the sashing

putting it all together

putting it all together

the top is finished

the top is finished

the backing fabric: something to read at night

the backing fabric is Noteworthy b y Sweetwater for Moda: something to read at night

Voila! It worked. I did go through a whole can of the spray starch but who cares. The quilt went together beautifully and is now ready to head to the floor where I will spend hours basting the layers together before I can start the hand-quilting process. During all this I also hope to get my film scanned and post those photos.

Have a nice weekend everyone.

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in crafts, Daily Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

