Pinhole eating, part II

first I have to scan my negatives, exposure 14 minutes

first I have to scan my negatives, exposure 14 minutes

Scanning and then removing dust particles are only two steps that must be completed before I can post any photos taken with my film cameras. Here in my office I have everything I need to get the job done.  This setup works well for me as everything is within an arm’s reach. Sometimes I get too much glare from the windows but the shutters let me filter the amount of light I receive. I also have a laptop that sometimes sits on my desk so that I can do other things while I scan. I have found that no computer I have ever used likes me doing anything else on it while scanning takes place.

I just finished another roll of film in my Zero Image 6×6 pinhole camera that included more images of eating out. After looking at these I realized I must take better notes. I use the Light Meter App on my iPhone to get my exposure readings, but I need to write down where I am and, if reading, what book or magazine I am reading. I now have a tiny notebook in my bag that will allow me to do this. Just have to remember to do it.

So here are more restaurant photos from the past two weeks, with exposure times. Coffee comes first:

Starbucks at 5 minutes

Starbucks at 5 minutes.

The two people in this photo were discussing going to the dentist. It gave me a chance to offer some help to the man as I noticed he had recently had knee-replacement surgery. Luckily he knew about taking antibiotics before any dental procedure. Location: Wilsonville Starbucks, Oregon

Barista at 2 minutes

Barista at 2 minutes.

Barista at 13 minutes

Barista at 13 minutes

Barista is a very peaceful coffee shop at 1725 NE Alberta.  Not much talking going on here, but a lot of reading.

Caffe Umbria at 2 minutes

Cafe Umbria at 2 minutes

The day I walked into Cafe Umbria at 303 NW 12th in Portland, Oregon, was full of sunshine and resulted in a faster exposure time than most restaurants allow. A man saw my pinhole camera on the table and came over and talked to me about film photography. Turns out he was a Fine Arts major and much preferred film photography over digital. We discussed cameras and procedures for about 15 minutes while also basking in the sunshine.

Next comes the food:

La Petite Provence at 10 minutes

La Petite Provence at 10 minutes

A breakfast at La Petite Provence at 1824 NE Alberta, Portland, meant a long line of waiting and even longer before getting someone to take my order. It’s also very noisy, but the delicious food made all the waiting worth it. While you wait there is ‘free’ coffee.

Nick's Coney island at 32 minutes

Nick’s Coney island at 32 minutes

My husband loves chili dogs and you can’t beat Nick’s Coney Island on SE Hawthorne. I love the old-fashioned bar and stools, the art work on the wall, and of course, the food. After this gut-splitting lunch we had to go for a long walk to relieve the pressure….lol.

Note the Timbers banner on the wall: the seasoner opener is next Saturday, march 3rd, at Jeld-Wen Field. I’ll be there, sitting in the Timbers Army section and singing and screaming. Maybe I should make a few pinhole images?

So this ends more pinhole eating….for now.

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Daily Life, Food, pinhole, Portland and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

