My Day with Vicki

Yesterday was another beautiful sunny day in Portland, Oregon. I had a date with my friend Vicki and we decided to make it a day on NW 23rd. The street is full of shops and restaurants. Some of our favorite stores have closed but new ones open and we adjust. Although I did take pictures with my pinhole and Holga cameras these are quick looks with my iPhone. The film is at the lab.

We started with a cup of java at Sterling Roasters on NW 21st. This is a very tiny coffee shop that has an atmosphere of a European cafe. White linen tablecloths and fresh flowers set the scene. The tiny tables line the big front window where you sit on a long window seat. It’s cozy with soft music playing in the background. And the drinks? The best.

Sterling Roaster's bar

Sterling Roaster’s bar

fresh flowers and linen table cloths

fresh flowers and linen table cloths

tables at Sterling Roasters

tables at Sterling Roasters

my mocha and pinhole camera making an image

my mocha and pinhole camera making an image

We then headed up two blocks to the street of shopping. We discovered a shop in an old house that sold beautiful Polish pottery. I’ve walked past it many times but have never gone in because the metal ornaments on the front porch were not in my taste so I thought nothing inside would be either. I was wrong. I didn’t buy anything but I’ll be back. Vicki came out with a couple of treasures.

We continued our walk and shopping. I only bought a book on Paris. All the shopping made us hungry so we decided on Papa Hydans….always a favorite. I can usually resist dessert, but my salad was light so thought I could split a lemon cake.

kale, carrot, nappa cabbage and currant salad

kale, carrot, nappa cabbage and currant salad

lemon cake with raspberry sauce

lemon cake with raspberry sauce

After 5 hours of shopping it was time to go home. A quick stop to pick up 9 rolls of developed film (shared soon) and then home to a cup of tea, my new book and enjoying the last of the day’s sunshine.

watching the clouds from my porch

watching the clouds from my porch

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Daily Life, iPhone pix and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Day with Vicki

  1. janaobscura says:

    Looking forward to seeing your photos from this trip! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

