Exploring N. Mississippi Ave in Portland

I’m still working on exploring Portland neighborhoods with my film cameras. A couple of weeks ago, on a nice sunny day, I took a walk down N. Mississippi Ave with my Hasselblad and my Holga. N. Mississippi has gone from grungy to trendy fairly quickly. At one time the pedestrian bridge that connects the neighborhood to the MAX light rail station had to be closed because of crime, but it is now open again which makes the neighborhood attractive to those who work in the city.

NMississippi_hassie100

The street is lined with restaurants, pubs, galleries, clothing stores and independent coffee shops. I stopped to eat at Mac and Cheese (yum) followed by a cup of coffee at Fresh Pot.

NMississippi_hassie102-Edit-2

MacCheese_pinhole091-Edit

Ptd_holga029-Edit

Homes are still affordable here but they are going up in price…..rapidly.

Ptd_holga032-Edit

NMississippi_hassie101

Ptd_holga030-Edit

It’s just a fun place to explore.

NMississippi_hassie103-Edit

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Daily Life, film, Hasselblad, Holga, Portland and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Exploring N. Mississippi Ave in Portland

  1. Raud says:

    I’ve lived in Portland for many years, and looking at it through your photos gives it a fresh perspective. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

