Hearts

February is National heart month. I decided to try my hand at making red heart-shaped donuts. However, since I am supposed to be cutting back on fried foods (I don’t eat much anyway),  I decided to try baking the donuts. I have to admit they don’t taste the same. It’s kind of like having  baked potato chips versus real ones. You can eat them but it’s not as enjoyable. I think these tasted more like cupcakes, but a little denser. I won’t give up. Maybe I just have to get used to them…or not eat them at all.

Wilton donut pan

Wilton donut pan

yummy batter

yummy batter

fill only half way

fill only half way

displayed on my Mom's glass platter

displayed on my Mom’s glass platter

The recipe comes with the pan so I am not going to bore you with it here.

FYI: Over at http://www.Intriptychcate.wordpress.com  Sue, Sarah and I will be celebrating the color ‘red’ all month.

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Daily Life, Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hearts

  1. Rhianne says:

    That pan is awesome!

Leave a Reply

