Under the St Johns Bridge with a Holga and a Hasselblad

It was one of those mornings a couple of weeks ago when the forecast was for another day of dense fog. I’d been wanting to drive into N Portland to take some photos of the St Johns Bridge in the fog so I loaded up two of my film cameras and hopped in the car.

Wilsonville fog

Wilsonville fog

Wilsonville, where I live now and just south of the city limits of Portland, was in deep frozen fog so I thought this would be a great day for the sort of photos I wanted to take. But as I drove up over a slight, very slight, hill I could see the fog breaking up before me. What to do? Drive faster and try to beat the incoming sunshine. Well you’ll see from these photos I didn’t quite make it. By the time I got to the bridge most of the fog was gone and I walked around in the splendor of sunshine.

gothic arches

gothic arches

through the trees

through the trees

moving cargo

moving cargo

It was still a good morning for some photos. So I shifted gears and concentrated on the beautiful blue day.

living under the bridge

living under the bridge

sun and shadow

sun and shadow

the bridge reflected

the bridge reflected

I’ll end with a little 4x exposure with the Holga:

Holga splendor x4

Holga splendor x4

 

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Hasselblad, Holga, Photography, Portland and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

