Sunday is made for baking

I like baking cookies. I was inspired by my Grandmother who made the most amazing sugar cookies. The ones I remember the most were her big bunnies she’d make at Easter. Now when I wrap myself in the quilt she made for me when I was a little girl I can smell those cookies. I make them for every special holiday. But today I was trying a new recipe: Double Ginger Cookies. I found the recipe in the latest issue of “Country Living” magazine.

it starts with a recipe

it starts with a recipe

However……my husband took over today. He said that he was the baker. It’s true he is an amazing baker….of pies and cakes….but I do cookies. I decided I’d let him do the honors today and I’d take the photos.

grating the fresh ginger

grating the fresh ginger

chopping apricots

chopping apricots

finely chop the crystallized ginger

finely chop the crystallized ginger

the cookie dough

the cookie dough

rolling into balls

rolling into balls

rolling in the sugar

rolling in the sugar

There are always some quirks with baking. This recipe said to bake the cookies for 8-10 minutes but it didn’t tell you how the cookies were supposed to look. From the photo it looked like the cookies would flatten out, but they didn’t. When we tasted a cookie after 10 minutes it seemed to be raw in the center. So we tried 11 minutes and then 12 minutes and finally decided that after 13 minutes we had to take them out.

round mounds

round mounds

After they cooled they were crusty on the outside but still soft on the inside. On the second batch I did press the cookies down a bit to help them spread out, but they don’t really spread out much at all.

just out of the oven

just out of the oven

cooled and served on a Wedgwood plate

cooled and served on a Wedgwood plate

What would I do differently: I’d use a fork and press down the balls like you do with peanut butter cookies. Then I’d increase the baking time to 12 minutes.

_MG_8266

press with a fork

press with a fork

They are very gingery….just like the name implies. They are also delicious and I will make them again.

Here is the recipe from Country Living:

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 T ground ginger
  • 1 t baking soda
  • 1 stick butter
  • 1/4 cups molasses
  • 2/3 cup light brown sugar
  • 2 T finely grated fresh ginger
  • 1 large egg, beaten
  • 1 cup dried apricots, finely chopped
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped crystallized ginger
  • 1 cup turbinado sugar
  • In a large bowl, stir together the flour, ground ginger, baking soda and a pinch of salt. Set aside.
  • In a small pan over medium heat, melt the butter. Remove from the heat and stir in molasses, brown sugar and fresh ginger. Let cool.
  • Add egg to cooled molasses mixture and stir to combine. Slowly stir into the dry ingredients, then stir in dried apricots and crystallized ginger. Cover with plastic wrap and chill for 1 hour.
  • Preheat oven to 350 degree F. Place turbinado sugar in a shallow bowl. Shape dough into half-inch balls, then roll in the sugar. Place cookies on two parchment-lined baking sheets, leaving 2 inches between cookies. Bake 8-10 minutes. Transfer to wire rack to cool.
  • enjoy with a nice cup of tea…..served in a proper cup, as my British friends would say
About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Daily Life, Food, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sunday is made for baking

  1. Anne says:

    Isn’t it just annoying when recipes forget to mention something as important as the shape or level of done-ness you’re supposed to achieve?
    I’m not a big fan of ginger in baked goods but those look very good, Gretchen! Ha, and Ron did mention that he was a baker of pies when you guys last came in to the store.

    • gretchen says:

      I agree about ginger. not my favorite but Ron wanted to try them. We ate a few and then they went to the freezer.
      And being a newbie at BM, Ron will be sure to make you a pie…..or his blue ribbon winner chocolate cake

  2. Rhianne says:

    Oh my, these look and sound amazing, I love ginger.

Leave a Reply

