A New Years Day walk with my Holga

I never leave home without a camera, but when I am out for a walk I want something light and easy. I grab my Holga. I have 4: the classic black, a white one, a pink  one and one with a flash.

The Holga has some characteristics you either like or don’t. There’s the soft focus, the vignetting, the light leaks and the sun flare. I have to admit that after being used to the sharpness of my digital cameras it took me awhile to embrace this type of photography.

Wilsonville Wildcats_free local bus service

Wilsonville Wildcats_free local bus service

Now I write for the online magazine, Lomography, who not only sell the Holga but a multitude of little plastic cameras. Plus they invent new ones all the time. Their latest is the Belair X 6-12 that shoots three formats: 6×6, 6×9,6×12. I use the Holgas that take 120 film but there are also some with 35 mm formats.

So on New Years Day, Ron and I set out for a little walk and I decided to just snap some photos along the way. We started by walking across the street from our house and into Graham Oaks Nature Park.  I love that we live next to this park with its walking trails, wetlands, trees, deer, birds,  and a few resident coyotes.

neighbors out for a walk

neighbors out for a walk

winter grasses

winter grasses

the nature park swamp

the nature park swamp

We had planned on walking just a couple of miles but the sun was shining and so we kept going. we decided to walk down to the Willamette River and the Boones Railroad Bridge. The grandson of Daniel Boone, yes he was real, settled in Wilsonville and both the Boones Ferry Road and bridge are named for him.

river double exposure

river and a double exposure

Boones Railroad Bridge

Boones Railroad Bridge

did you know that it is against the law to walk the tracks?

did you know that it is against the law to walk the tracks?

living on the tracks

living on the tracks…now that’s an RV

The old town of  Wilsonville is going through a little transformation and renewal and it could not come soon enough. It can be a little rough in areas and I am sure many of the people who live here hate seeing the changes that are coming their way. But at the river’s edge there is a nice park and in the summer, when the water is lower, a nice little sandy beach.

a local cabinet maker

a local cabinet maker

a historic old building now a house

a historic old building that was a store in the 1800’s and is now a house and home to this cat

maybe they board rocking horses in the barn

maybe they board rocking horses in the barn

little old house

little old house

the last of the trailer parks on prime river front property

the last of the trailer parks on prime river front property

our government might stink but the local council is having the nearby sewer treatment plant rebuilt

our government might stink but the local council is having the nearby sewer treatment plant rebuilt_lucky for these nearby residents

We discovered a paved path at the end of the park that continues under the freeway, onto the other side and into Memorial Park. We decided to explore it on another day for we had already walked 6 miles and we were hungry. We stopped at the newly built McMinnemans for some sustenance to make the trek back home.

a lunch break

a lunch break with a long exposure. Camera badly balanced on a beam

bridge over the wetlands

bridge over the wetlands

stumped

stumped

 

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Daily Life, Holga, lomography, Neighborhoods, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A New Years Day walk with my Holga

  1. janaobscura says:

    Wow, right after reading about your experience I went to pick up my camera to check the shutter. Luckily, it seems to be closing, but I’ve been too frustrated with the Bel Air for other reasons. I am curious to see if the glass lenses will fix the problem, but haven’t pre-purchased them yet. You’re right, this is an expensive Lomo camera and I could get a quality, vintage, medium format with sharp glass for the money I already spent. I’m actually really sad that this camera didn’t live up to the hype.

    That being said, I’m still seeing some nice images from others on the Flickr group! I guess success/failure is swinging very widely with this camera.

    • gretchen says:

      I have to agree with you on all counts. I’m seeing some nice results too but I don’t know how they are getting them because I didn’t. I was hoping the glass lens would help with some of my frustration. I also agree with you about the hype. I expected more. I thought, being metal, that it would be heavier with a better feel and stronger construction all around. I sure hope they will take mine back. If they don’t I won’t be buying another camera from them….which could also end my writing for them.
      Whenever I was out with the camera it got a lot of attention and people were really excited about it. I probably sold a dozen of them for the company. The fact that it has 3 formats is so nice. But then my Hasselblad X-Pan has two formats and I can switch between the two WITHOUT having to run through a whole roll of film first….and it’s sturdy and works! 🙂
      It’s sad.
      I have several very old medium format folding cameras on my shelf. I think it is time I start using those. I just want my money back now.

  2. janaobscura says:

    Congrats! I didn’t know you were writing for Lomography. How are you doing with the BelAir?

    • gretchen says:

      The Belair is not going well. I had it with me today when I stopped in at Blue Moon and Zeb wanted to see it. He was looking at it and noticed the shutter wasn’t closed. So he clicks on the lever and still it won’t close. He took the lens off and manually closed it and then took another picture and again it didn’t close. I am not happy. It’s defective. So I will email my contact at lomography and they better let me return it. I’ve only run 2 rolls of film through it. I recently ordered the glass lens but I am now thinking of canceling my order and not bothering with the Belair at all. Lomography won’t be too happy to hear that I am not happy. If it was a Holga, I’d just toss it and buy another but this camera is not cheap. Blue Moon told me they have a terrible failure rate with Lomography cameras, but this is the first one I have had that broke. Good thing I am not writing my review now.
      How was your Christmas holiday?

Leave a Reply

