The holidays through a pinhole camera

I used my Zero Image pinhole camera to capture some of my holiday preparations and celebrations.

my Zero Image pinhole cameras

my Zero Image pinhole cameras

I enjoy using my pinhole camera without a view finder or lens because it makes me slow down during the long exposures. Without a view finder I have to use my own eye and try to see the composition in my brain instead of on a LCD screen. Then there is the anticipation while the film is at the lab. I’m never quite sure what will come back, sometimes good and sometimes not, but always unique.

Christmas lights at Pioneer Place

Christmas lights at Pioneer Place

flutist at the Capitol

flutist at the Capitol

Christmas program at the Oregon State Capitol

Christmas program at the Oregon State Capitol

I used it on Christmas Day at my friend’s house and I think it is a great way to have your portrait taken. If you move then you are a ghost. If you move too much then you are just ekto-plasma. Trying to explain to some people about the long exposures and how they affect the outcome is a futile exercise.  I just set the camera on a tripod and then expose the film.

opening presents at the Breuners

opening presents at the Breuners

Matthew's slide show

Matthew’s slide show

All the exposures were between 15 and 30 minutes. I used Fuji 400 speed film. Usually I use Kodak Ektar 100 but since I was shooting inside I decided to go to 400 so the exposures would be shorter. I am pretty happy with the results although I am getting a color cast. So now I have a New Years resolution that doesn’t have to do with diet and exercise: figure out how to remove the color cast.  I use the custom white balance tool in Lightroom but it isn’t enough. Now where’s my manual?

gift exchange at the British Travel Friends party

gift exchange at the British Travel Friends party

putting lights on the tree. I am the blur on the left side of the tree

putting lights on the tree. I am the blur on the left side of the tree

resting in my chair after Christmas

resting in the reclined chair after Christmas

taking a break with a magazine on the sofa

taking a break with a magazine on the sofa

Hope you all had a wonderful Christmas, if you celebrate, and that you put some of the memories on film.  Now I think I need a rest before New Years Eve. In these photos it looks like all I do is nap, but honestly I only sat there long enough for the photos then it was up and back to work.

I'm taking a nap on the sofa. All the decorating is exhausting

I’m taking a nap on the sofa. All the decorating is exhausting

time for a much needed rest

time for a much-needed rest

Now that I have my first resolution for 2013 I better get busy and come up with a few more. I think I am going to try to come up with a few more that have to do with my photography. How about you?

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in film, Photography, pinhole and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The holidays through a pinhole camera

  1. daybf says:

    I particularly like the composition and movement of the “flutist at the Capitol” and the “gift exchange at the British Travel Friends party” has a neat point of view as well. Makes me want to go take some long exposures!

  2. janaobscura says:

    Holy cow, these are fantastic! It looks like you’ve had a very merry Christmas indeed! Happy New Year to you and yours!

  3. simon0252 says:

    Great photos from the Zero Image pinhole camera.

Leave a Reply

