A Capitol Christmas

A trip to Salem, Oregon’s capitol, for my annual British Travel Friends Christmas party gave me the chance to visit our State’s Capitol. It’s something I haven’t done since…..umm…1959, when Oregon was 100 years old. yep, we haven’t been a State all that long.

Oregon State Capitol

Oregon State Capitol

Lewis and Clark led by Sacajawea

Lewis and Clark led by Sacajawea

covered wagon and horses

covered wagon and horses

Official seal

Official seal

I thought the Capitol just might be decorated for Christmas and when I walked in I was surprised to find a musical program taking place. A little trip to the Information Desk and I learned that during the holidays there are musical groups performing every day for the two weeks leading up to Christmas. I took the time to sit and listen.

foyer

foyer

choirs perform all day during the holidays

choirs perform all day during the holidays

 

pink and green is the theme

pink and green is the theme

under the dome

under the dome

I was surprised that I was allowed to walk all through the halls and into the government chambers without being checked or asked what I was up to. I took advantage of empty government houses to snap a few pictures even though I had to ramp up the ISO to 2500 and f4.

climbing the stairs to the dome, which was closed

climbing the stairs to the dome, which was closed

the Senate

the Senate

forest floor of the Legislature

forest floor of the Legislature

There are  larger-than-life painting of past Governors. Also some relics from the past from an old technology.

one of the best governors

one of the best governors

Oregon'g Governor

Oregon’s Governor

phone booths but no phones

phone booths but no phones

I wandered around for a couple of hours before heading outside and across the street to the State Library. I managed some pinhole images with exposure times of an hour and more, but those will have to wait until I get the film developed. I loved that the library still uses the old card catalogs. A bonus was a Dorothea Lange photo exhibit in the upper halls.

flags from 50 States

flags from 50 States

Oregon State Library

Oregon State Library

catalog room

catalog room

I love the old card catalogs

I love the old card catalogs

There is just something about these old catalog drawers: the smell of the old oak and the feel of the card stock. The catalog drawers just seem to make it easier to browse topics you might otherwise never think about. The computer catalogs just don’t give me the same experience. Oh, kind of like a real book compared to an E-reader……hmmmm

have you been naughty or nice....a polygraph will tell all

have you been naughty or nice….a polygraph will tell all

She photographed Oregon migrant farmers for the WPA

She photographed Oregon migrant farmers for the WPA

I don’t know why i waited so long to make this visit, but when something is in your backyard you tend to visit when out-of-town guests visit. but this was a great thing to do and I think my next trip will be up to the Capitol in Washington State.

theme trees

theme trees

 

 

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Oregon and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Capitol Christmas

  1. Sartenada says:

    I love the senate photo most of all although all Your photos are great.

  2. The State Library looks like a place I’d like to get lost exploring for awhile. Really like that shot of those old dewey decimal system cards.

Leave a Reply

