grief

I have become over come with grief this past week. The shootings in Portland were tragic and oh so difficult to understand. Reeling from that news, what followed hit me even harder: the massacre of tiny children and adults at a school in Connecticut. That news brought me to my knees.

Lincoln_Newport Cemetery-26

It doesn’t matter that the school is on the opposite of the US from me. I am affected in ways I have never experienced before. I am having trouble with sleeping and focusing on my own daily life.  None of it seems to matter when you think of those children and adults and what must have been going through their minds during their last few seconds on earth. They should have been safe, but they weren’t.

Richard Felming, Bishop pf Lincoln, d.1431

We will speculate about the shooters for years to come, but I don’t want to give them too much thought for they are evil and I should not let them into my brain. What we can do, is take the time to prayer for those that died and those that are left behind to suffer for the rest of their lives.

33_light from the glass

And take time to connect with your friends and family. Give them hugs and say “I love you”.  And that is all I can say today.

candles in Lincoln Cathedral. Dedicated to St Gilbert of Sempringham

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Daily Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

