Gateway to the Columbia with my Hasselblad 500

A couple of weeks ago I spent a few days in Astoria, exploring the northern part of the Oregon coast and the mouth to the Columbia River. A little trivia: Astoria was named for John Jacob Astor, the owner of the American Fur Company.

looking back to the town of Astoria and the Megler Bridge

looking back to the town of Astoria and the Megler Bridge

I was lucky enough to choose the week when the weather was dry and even a bit on the warm side, something unusual for Astoria. Lewis and Clark knew this all too well when they spent a very stormy winter here in 1805-1806.

golden grasses along the river

golden grasses along the river

I stayed in the old Commodore Hotel on Commercial St. Lovely old hotel with a wonderful lobby with fireplace and a connecting coffee shop. The only negative was the horrible traffic noise from the street below. Luckily I had my ear plugs and by the second night I had grown used to it……sort of. Even with the noise, I’d stay there again. The room was spacious, clean and nicely decorated. I loved the huge windows that filled one wall of my room.(these photos were taken with my digital camera)

lobby conversation area

lobby conversation area

into the coffee shop

into the coffee shop

well slept in

well slept in

sitting area

sitting area

fogged up in the morning

fogged up in the morning

My mornings were spent walking along the river front and watching the ships go by.

ship watching

ship watching

Astoria452-EditAstoria451-Edit-EditAstoriaI drove a little south hoping for a cloud filled sunset, but instead encountered blue skies. I am not complaining. I made a little side trip to check out the ship wreck at Fort Stevens.

Oregon_coast476-Edit

wading in

British ship wreck

British ship wreck

Peter_IredaleI returned to Astoria just in time for a little golden light and a slight coloring on the horizon.

Astoria457-Edit

Astoria455-Edit

One of the reasons I spent time on the Northern coast was to do a ‘shop hop’ of various quilt stores. I recently renewed this hobby that had taken a back seat to many others. Of the 11 quilt shops I visited my favorite was the one in Cannon Beach. There were many other nice ones, but I especially like the CB store for its selection of batik and beach-themed fabrics. After 3 days I had shopped out and returned to Portland.

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in film, Hasselblad, Oregon, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gateway to the Columbia with my Hasselblad 500

  1. the Commodore Hotel looks like a nice affordable place to stay. Perfect for quick weekend getaway. I’ve been wanting to venture down to the Astoria area for awhile now too. Did you happen to visit the Light Box Photography Gallery while you where there?

    • gretchen says:

      Jeff,
      It was a great hotel. if you don’t get a room with an en-suite bathroom I found the ones at the end of the hall to be very clean and nice. It’s a great location. The other place I recommend is the Holiday Inn Express because you can request a room right under the bridge. Great for late night bridge photos.
      And yes, I go to Light Box whenever I am in Astoria. Wonderful gallery.
      Thanks for reading my blog.

      • Room right under the bridge just screams an all night pinhole exposure. Thanks so much for the advice.

        • gretchen says:

          You are welcome. That’s where I usually stay for the exact reason you gave.
          I stayed at the Commodore because my husband had given me the nights as a gift. he didn’t think about the traffic noise or the fact I couldn’t see the bridge. Usually I stay at the Hol Inn. Maybe not the atmosphere but great for photography.

Leave a Reply

