Wet plate collodion

I’ve been working on a series of wet plate camera portraits. I love the process even though my hands stay coated with silver nitrate for several weeks. It’s worth it.

I learned how to make tin plates through a wonderful instructor, Ray Bidegain, first at Newspace Center for Photography and then through his private tutoring. I may go back for one more private lesson.

Wet plate collodion is a slow process of first coating and treating a piece of tin, then taking the photo, followed by developing and then leaving in a water bath. It seems quick but it isn’t. There are a lot of web sites that describe the process in detail if you are interested. I am not going to go into every detail here.

I just wanted to share some of my results. None of these have been retouched or Photoshopped in any way. I see some scratches and dust from the scanning that I will take carer of when I have some time to sit in my digital space and play on the computer.

(and yes, they come out backwards)

About gretchen

I love living in the Pacific Northwest being close to the mountains and the ocean. My hobbies include photography, travel, reading, biking, walking and gardening. I am an Anglophile at heart and try to visit the UK often. My camera goes everywhere with me.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

